Do you ever just wish that you were someone else?

Every now and then, I plan escape. I want – need – to get away.

I want to run away from the confusion, pain, problems, responsibilities, decisions. I want to get AWAY!

I want to take a road trip or something, I don’t know, anything. I just know that I have to get away from everything for a while.

So what do I do?

Read a book.

I always have a book in my bag, ready -in fact, waiting- to be read.

And when I read, I become the character. Suddenly, this isn’t my life anymore, it’s the character’s… and I’m enjoying it.

My maths teacher said to me that I read too much, my reply was;

“There’s no such thing as reading too much. It’s never enough”

Books, novels, series, trilogies, sequels… the list goes on.

My point is, it’s comforting to become someone else, especially when there’s something in reality that you need to escape.

My life is so uninteresting, boring, dull… there’s no colour to it. I feel like I haven’t had ‘fun’ in a long time. I haven’t laughed until my stomach hurts or been so carefree that I can do anything.

The older you get, the more sense of responsibility you feel and the more you realise the truth. The amount of responsibility keeps on growing and there isn’t a way to get away from it. There is no turning back. You have to give it your all and take full on control at some point in your life. You can only run away from it for a certain period of time.

Make the right decisions and choose the wise choices. But remember to stay happy through it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

