“Come on, you have to do this!” I tell myself.

I down the coffee despite it’s disgusting taste. This was something I had to do.

Okay, look. I don’t ever drink coffee. It is my last ray of hope so that I can finish my coursework in time for tomorrow.

I’m sitting at my desk, sleep hovering over my eyes. A mug full of STRONG coffee next to my laptop and paperwork. Waiting for the strong amount of granules I poured in to start to take effect and make me awake.

It gives me a weird taste in my mouth, so I have the chocolate and chewing gum ready. My tongue feels weird too.

I NEVER drink coffee. I stay away from coffee and tea like a vampire would stay away from garlic. I think they are drugs and people who drink it become addicted to it.

Before you jump to conclusions, let me tell you what’s really going on.

I have coursework due in tomorrow. Yes, third week into college and we have coursework due in already. The only way I can get the work done is to wake up tonight. And the way to not fall asleep? Coffee. And that’s what I just took a big sip of. Strong, dark coffee. It tastes like medicine. And the reason why I have to stay awake at night to complete my work? For the education.

Sometimes, people think that because we get free education in the UK that we take it for granted. That can be true to a certain extent. For example, I moan and complain about having to go to college all the time. However, I still try to work as hard as I can to be able to stay at the top of my subjects and try to pass the exams.

I know a hell lot of other people who do too. They will stay awake at night, work whenever they get the chance. They work their backsides off to be able to achieve the grades they want. For education.

But does education define us? If I worked hard as eff but didn’t achieve a pass grade, everyone looking at my CV will think I’m not hard working. On the other hand, if I achieve brilliant results but effortlessly, they will think I’m so hard working and so on.

The truth is, we hear everyone telling us that it’s not the grades that define us. It’s our personality and our extra curriculum. But what they say is just for reassurance. Which person on earth will look at a D grade or an E, F, G, U grade and still think that the person they are dealing with is hard working, putting in the effort. No one. Sadly, grades do define us and people do judge our ability based on what grades we achieve. That is the truth.

But truth hurts and lies comfort us. So we all follow the lie that people tell us.

This world is a judgemental place (and will not admit to it) but it doesn’t know not to judge a book by it’s cover.

P.S Friends, don’t get worried about me drugging myself with coffee. This is a one-off. And hey, it’s for education. It’s all for a good cause. Otherwise, what will define me?

Leave a Reply

