skinny duck
The most beautiful creature I’ve ever seen

Hello everyone. So I know that I need to be doing my post for the Liebster Award which I haven’t yet done because I have been so busy lately, (I know, who would have guessed?). I should be doing that post sometime soon, I’ve just finished all my coursework and the exam pressure is also on! But today… something amazing happened. I simply couldn’t not share it. Today, I was walking home from school. I walked over the bridge, this has been my favourite place for a while. I love the river so much and the rocks and ripples and flowers. Normally, whenever I walk past the river, I stop and gaze into it. But today, I thought to myself that I wouldn’t stop, I’ll have a quick look to see if there are any ducks there (I like watching the ducks) and I’ll carry on. As soon as I reached the bridge, I didn’t go too close to the edge of the bridge otherwise I’d be hooked, but I looked and as soon as my eyes saw the most beautiful creature ever, I was hooked anyway. I’ve never seen a duck like that in the river before, I was curious. Very, very curious. I decided to stay, only because it was such a rare opportunity.

I stood there, as still as possible. I didn’t want to scare it away. I stood there, starting at the duck. Never have I ever seen such a lean, skinny body with such a nice grey-white colour. I found myself wanting the duck to trust me, I felt like the duck was testing me. It was close to me but when I had got to the bridge, it had walked further away from me. I wanted it to come back, I want it to come closer. I could see that it was looking at me. We were staring at each other, unmoving. Eventually, my eyes started to go blurry and I couldn’t tell the difference between the ripples and reflections in the water and the duck. I blinked and shook my head. I tried to tell myself to walk away but I couldn’t tear my gaze from the duck. I stood and started, willing for it to come closer. People walked past me, looking… but I didn’t care. I stood, still as a hawk, with my phone in my hand and my body leaning against the bridge.

Obviously, I wanted to take a picture of the duck. I zoomed in and tried all sorts of things but it didn’t work. My phone camera wasn’t good enough. I willed again for the duck to come closer. And just then, a fly came and hit me in the face,  and once I moved my head in shock, it started to circle my head. The duck still stood still, as if to show that it had caught me, I was a human. Then, as if it felt betrayed, insecure, it slowly stepped back away from me. I couldn’t help myself, I wanted to walk away but my feet were glued to the spot.

This experience… I found it so bizzare.

For the first time in my life, I felt like I had a connection with a creature of nature.

I stayed put, and willed over and over again for the duck to come closer. And finally, it did. It looked at me very carefully and I looked at it too. There, in that moment, I felt like I understood what the duck felt, and what it was thinking. And I felt that the duck understood me, and it knew what I was thinking. I looked at the time and unwillingly had to leave which was such a hard task. My heart was amazed, bewildered and it needed the peace which the seeing the duck had given it. I felt like I belonged. I understood. For the first time in my life. I want that to happen again. I waved goodbye to the duck and felt sad to be leaving it. I almost felt the duck say “ha, like the rest, you left too. But I will see you again.” And in that moment, I wanted to turn back around and run back to the bridge.

Of course, I got pictures… but they weren’t of good enough quality so I came home and googled many different things, until I typed in ‘skinny duck’. There was no other way to describe it. The page was full of images, but only the third one looked exactly like the one I saw. I don’t know the name of this duck, this is the first time I’ve ever seen it. So I have no way of doing more research into it. There was only one picture of it, which made me feel like only I was meant to find it. It was a connection. However, the website that had the picture on it was unavailable. I did manage to find out that it’s a type of Norfolk Broad duck which surprises me.

Where did it come from?

I felt so attached, so joined, so in tune.

I want that feeling again.

So that was my first actual experience with nature. Let me know if you have had some experiences or if you have any information about this type of duck. I love reading comments!

3 thoughts on “The Creature of Nature

  1. I can’t tell how much I love this post, not only because it’s written beautifully and very precize, but also because I remember your comment on my blog and that conversation we had. I am so glad I managed to “push you into nature” and even more, that you enjoyed it. Keep your eyes open to the little beautiful things that tell us we’re part of this big and loving mother-nature. You won’t regret it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

